George Russell fastest, Charles Leclerc crashes out of testing

George Russell fastest, Charles Leclerc crashes out of testing


The final day of the post-season tyre test ended with George Russell quickest for Mercedes and Charles Leclerc crashing into the barriers for Ferrari.

Leclerc was forced to cut short his afternoon running at the Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi when his SF90 collided with the barrier at Turn 12/13.

Ich hab diese Bilder jetzt bei LAT Images gesehen, frag mich was passiert ist…

— tami. (@Vetteleclerc) December 4, 2019

Leclerc walked away from the incident unscathed but the red flags came out so his Ferrari could be loaded onto a recovery truck back to the garage.

The 22-year-old had completed 103 laps prior to the accident with Ferrari already gathering enough data on the 2019 and 2020 Pirelli tyre compounds.

Reste 15 minutes avant la fin de la deuxième et dernière journée d'essais à Yas Marina. Peu de machines ont commencé à tourner sur la piste après que le drapeau rouge a été brandi pour l'accident de Charles Leclerc

— MAXIME?KYLIAN (@MaxKylCPB) December 4, 2019

Leclerc finished in P2, with a best time of 1:37.401 which was a couple of tenths slower than what Russell managed for Mercedes.

Racing Point’s Lance Stroll was the final driver to drop into the 1:37 benchmark, just, with a 1:37.999 set during a day which saw him complete 108 laps to finish P3.

Pierre Gasly, in P4 racked up the most laps of anyone with 146 to his name by the time the checkered flag waved in Abu Dhabi.

Carlos Sainz, Esteban Ocon in the Renault, Alex Albon, Haas’ Pietro Fittipaldi, Antonio Giovinazzi and Nicholas Latifi completed the top 10 respectively.

Bringing up the rear was Williams’ Roy Nissany, who added another 38 laps to the bank during his morning session in the FW42.

That officially draws the curtain on the 2019 season, with teams now set to vote on whether to use the 2020 tyres or stick with what they already had available to them this campaign.

The next on-track action will be on February 19 2020 with the traditional pre-season test at the Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona.

Abu Dhabi post-season test, day two timesheet:

1 George Russell Mercedes 1:37.204 130 laps
2 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:37.401 103 laps
3 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1:37.999 108 laps
4 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1:38.166 146 laps
5 Carlos Sainz McLaren 1:38.729 91 laps
6 Esteban Ocon Renault 1:38.950 113 laps
7 Alex Albon Red Bull Racing 1:39.181 111 laps
8 Pietro Fittipaldi Haas 1:39.683 135 laps
9 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 1:39.811 106 laps
10 Nicholas Latifi Williams 1:40.188 71 laps
11 Roy Nissany Williams 1:43.892 38 laps

Source: Read Full Article