IMSA Sebring 12H: Van der Zande’s WTR Cadillac fastest in FP2

IMSA Sebring 12H: Van der Zande’s WTR Cadillac fastest in FP2


Renger van der Zande lapped Sebring Raceway in 1min47.478sec to put Wayne Taylor Racing’s Cadillac DPi-V.R on top in second practice for the Sebring 12 Hours.

As WTR prepares to battle for not only race honors but also the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship on Saturday, van der Zande led a Cadillac 1-2-3, just 0.167sec ahead of Sebastien Bourdais in the JDC Miller Motorsports car, but 0.6sec faster than defending race-winner Pipo Derani in the Action Express Racing machine.

Oliver Jarvis was fastest of the turbocharged DPi cars, 0.86sec slower in the #77 Mazda RT24-P, ahead of Alexander Rossi’s best effort in the #7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 he’ll be sharing with championship leaders Helio Castroneves and Ricky Taylor.

The second Acura, in the hands of another IndyCar star Simon Pagenaud, was fast enough to beat Jonathan Bomarito’s Mazda and the second JDC-Miller Caddy of Matheus Leist.

Despite the Starworks entry causing a red flag when it ground to a halt on track, Mikkel Jensen was able to lap in 1min51.667sec to turn fastest LMP2 time of the session, a quarter second faster than Simon Trummer in the PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports entry.

The two Porsche 911 RSRs of Laurens Vanthoor and Fred Makowiecki were 0.2sec apart but a further quarter second faster than their closest GT Le Mans opposition. That took the form of Jordan Taylor’s title-winning #3 Corvette C8.R, with Jesse Krohn and Colton Herta fourth and fifth in the BMW M8s ahead of Oliver Gavin in the #4 Corvette.

Steijn Schothorst led a Lamborghini Huracan 1-2 in GT Daytona, the Dutchman setting a 2min02.352sec in the Grasser Racing Team entry to shade Bryan Sellers’ best effort in the Paul Miller Racing machine by just 0.098sec.

No less impressive was Jan Heylen’s best effort in the Porsche 911 GT3R of Wright Motorsports which was just a further 0.126sec in arrears, ahead of Aaron Telitz and Frankie Montecalvo in the two AIM Vasser-Sullivan Lexus RC Fs.

Title hopeful Mario Farnbacher in the Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX edged Robby Foley’s Turner Motorsports BMW M6 for P6.

The 90min evening session begins at 6.15pm local (Eastern) time.

110 Renger van der Zande
 Ryan Briscoe
 Scott Dixon
DPiCadillac DPi231’47.478  125.272
25 Sebastien Bourdais
 Tristan Vautier
 Loïc Duval
DPiCadillac DPi251’47.6450.1670.167125.078
331 Luiz Felipe Nasr
 Luis Felipe Derani
 Gabby Chaves
DPiCadillac DPi271’48.2410.7630.596124.389
477 Oliver Jarvis
 Tristan Nunez
 Olivier Pla
DPiMazda DPi241’48.3350.8570.094124.281
57 Hélio Castroneves
 Ricky Taylor
 Alexander Rossi
DPiAcura DPi211’48.4580.9800.123124.140
66 Juan Pablo Montoya
 Dane Cameron
 Simon Pagenaud
DPiAcura DPi231’48.8571.3790.399123.685
755 Jonathan Bomarito
 Harry Tincknell
 Ryan Hunter-Reay
DPiMazda DPi241’49.0551.5770.198123.461
885 Matheus Leist
 Stephen Simpson
DPiCadillac DPi251’49.1781.7000.123123.322
98 John Farano
 Mikkel Jensen
 David Heinemeier Hansson
(LMP2ORECA LMP2 07191’51.6674.1892.489120.573
1052Patrick Kelly
 Simon Trummer
 Scott Huffaker
(LMP2ORECA LMP2 07221’51.9314.4530.264120.288
1151 Jakub Smiechowski
 Naveen Rao
 Matthew Bell
(LMP2ORECA LMP2 07291’52.9515.4731.020119.202
1238 Don Yount
 Patrick Byrne
 Guy Cosmo
(LMP2ORECA LMP2 07261’56.2538.7753.302115.816
13912 Earl Bamber
 Laurens Vanthoor
 Neel Jani
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 19261’57.97510.4971.722114.126
14911 Nick Tandy
 Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 19231’58.17210.6940.197113.936
153 Antonio Garcia
 Jordan Taylor
 Nicky Catsburg
GTLMCorvette C8.R271’58.44410.9660.272113.674
1624 Jesse Krohn
 John Edwards
 Augusto Farfus
GTLMBMW M8 GTE221’58.60611.1280.162113.519
1725 Bruno Spengler
 Connor de Phillippi
 Colton Herta
GTLMBMW M8 GTE251’59.14311.6650.537113.007
184 Oliver Gavin
 Tommy Milner
 Marcel Fässler
GTLMCorvette C8.R241’59.54412.0660.401112.628
1911 Richard Heistand
 Steijn Schothorst
 Franck Perera
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT3262’02.35214.8742.808110.043
2048 Bryan Sellers
 Madison Snow
 Corey Lewis
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT3212’02.45014.9720.098109.955
2116 Ryan Hardwick
 Patrick Long
 Jan Heylen
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R252’02.47815.0000.028109.930
2214 Jack Hawksworth
 Aaron Telitz
 Kyle Kirkwood
GTDLexus RC F GT3232’02.59115.1130.113109.829
2312 Frankie Montecalvo
 Townsend Bell
 Michael de Quesada
GTDLexus RC F GT3262’02.95715.4790.366109.502
2486 Mario Farnbacher
 Matthew McMurry
 Shinya Michimi
GTDAcura NSX GT3222’03.06515.5870.108109.406
2596 Bill Auberlen
 Robby Foley
 Dillon Machavern
GTDBMW M6 GT3242’03.23515.7570.170109.255
2623 Ian James
 Roman De Angelis
 Darren Turner
GTDAston Martin Vantage GT3222’03.28415.8060.049109.211
2774 Gar Robinson
 Lawson Aschenbach
 Marc Miller
GTDMercedes-AMG GT3242’03.32115.8430.037109.178
2863 Cooper MacNeil
 Alessandro Balzan
 Jeff Westphal
GTDFerrari 488 GT3222’03.37415.8960.053109.132
2944 Andy Lally
 John Potter
 Spencer Pumpelly
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT3222’03.66616.1880.292108.874
3057 Trent Hindman
 Mikhail Goikhberg
 Joey Hand
GTDAcura NSX GT3242’03.81116.3330.145108.746
3130 Rob Ferriol
 Andrew Davis
 Pierre Kaffer
GTDAudi R8 LMS GT3242’04.53617.0580.725108.11

Source: Read Full Article