Oliver Askew leads 2019 Road to Indy all-American champions

Oliver Askew leads 2019 Road to Indy all-American champions


Oliver Askew may be the next big thing in IndyCar.

Oliver Askew may be the next big thing in the NTT IndyCar Series.

The 22-year-old driver celebrated his Indy Lights championship at the The Road To Indy’s Championship Celebration in Monterey, Calif., on Monday.

Askew, from Jupiter, Florida, was the top honoree after capturing the Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires championship for Andretti Autosport. He will receive $1.1 million toward a minimum of three 2020 NTT IndyCar Series races, including the 104th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge.

The Indy Lights title completed Askew’s rise from karting to an IndyCar Series opportunity in just four years. The Road to Indy program handed out more than $2.2 million in scholarships.

Other Road to Indy winners:

Kyle Kirkwood, a childhood friend of Askew’s and a longtime karting rival, received $596,700 in scholarships and awards for winning the Indy Pro 2000 championship for RP Motorsport USA. Kirkwood, also from Jupiter, Fla., became the first driver since Matt Brabham in 2012 and ’13 to capture the USF2000 and Indy Pro 2000 titles in consecutive seasons.

Braden Eves delivered a stirring comeback in Sunday’s final race of the USF2000 season by erasing a 12-point deficit to Hunter McElrea with a title-clinching victory, his sixth of the season. Eves, of New Albany, Ohio, gave Cape Motorsports its ninth consecutive series championship and 13th overall. Eves received $305,600 to be applied to a Indy Pro 2000 ride in 2020.

Add NTT IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden into the mix, and all four champions are Americans, the first time that’s happened since 2002 (Sam Hornish Jr. in the Indy Racing League, A.J. Foyt IV in Infiniti Pro Series, Guy Cosmo in Star Mazda and Bryan Sellers in USF2000).

Source: Read Full Article